Andreas Furche Dr Andreas Furche – Chairman

Andreas Furche’s focus is on development and commercialisation of new technologies in capital markets, banking, and payments. He developed the commercialisation strategy for CMCRC in 2003, and as CEO of SMARTS developed that business until its sale to NASDAQ OMX in 2010. He currently sits on the board of CMCRC as Deputy Chairman, with previous positions including Managing Director of DigiCash Asia/Pacific, and Director, Financial Services Sector at Electronic Trading Concepts.

Christine Bennett Professor Christine Bennett AO – Independent Director

Professor Christine Bennett is the Dean of the School of Medicine, at The University of Notre Dame in Sydney. Professor Bennett was awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day 2014 Honours List recognising her distinguished service to medicine and health care leadership. She is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, the former Chair of the National Health and Hospitals Reform Commission and the former Chief Medical Officer for Bupa Australia Group. Professor Bennett’s experience has included being Partner in Health and Life Sciences for KPMG Australia, CEO of Research Australia, CEO of Westmead Hospital, General Manager for the Royal Hospital for Women and Head of Planning in NSW Health. She is currently Chair of Research Australia – an alliance of over 170 member organisations promoting health and medical research in Australia; The Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network in NSW; and the Bupa Health Foundation Steering Committee. She also sits on the boards of Obesity Australia, Bupa Health Dialog and the Integrated Clinical Oncology Network. Among her many other distinctions, Professor Bennett was selected in 2013 as a Finalist in NSW for Australian of the Year.

Mike Aitkin Professor Michael Aitken AM – Independent Director

Among the top 1000 authors publishing in the finance literature over the last 50 years, Mike Aitken is a successful entrepreneur and founder of both the CMCRC and its predecessor organisation SIRCA. Uncanny business acumen led him to establish the SMARTS Group, a private Australian company that set the standard in real-time security market surveillance and sold to NASDAQ-OMX in 2010. Mike also initiated the development of the Reuters Tick History Service, a service providing tick data to the world’s academic and financial markets communities as well as path breaking technology in the detection of fraud in health care markets, founding CMC Insurance Solutions, now Lorica Health. He also established an expert witness business providing specialist services for legal cases involving insider trading, market manipulation and continuous disclosure breaches. Mike has a PhD from the University of New South Wales and first class honours and masters’ degrees from Massey University (New Zealand). In recognition of his contributions to business and academia in 1999 he was awarded the Business and Higher Education Roundtable Award for Outstanding Achievement in Collaboration in Education and Training. In 2010 he was named Ernst & Young ICT Entrepreneur of the Year, as well as NSW and Prime Minister Exporter of the Year. In recognition of his significant service to the education, business and finance sectors of the nation, he was inducted as a member of the Order of Australia in 2014.

David Skellern Dr David Skellern AO – Independent Director

David Skellern worked in radioastronomy for 10 years and taught electronics at Sydney and Macquarie Universities for 16 years before coming to prominence in the IT industry through Radiata, which he co-founded in 1997. Built on joint research conducted by Macquarie University and the CSIRO, the company demonstrated the world’s first chip-set implementation of the 54 Mbit/s IEEE 802.11a High-Speed WLAN standard. Radiata was subsequently sold to US giant Cisco Systems in 2001 for $565 million. Dr Skellern joined the Board of National ICT Australia in 2003 and became its Chief Executive Officer in 2005 and is currently Chairman of CMCRC. Dr Skellern was appointed to the Order of Australia in 2010.

DrAndrewPesce_board Dr Andrew Pesce – Independent Director

Andrew Pesce is an Obstetrician and Gynaecologist in public and private practice in Sydney. He is Deputy Chairman of  MDASA Ltd and Medical Insurance Australia Pty Ltd and is a Board Member on Western Sydney Local Health District. A former Federal President of the AMA and current NSW AMA Councillor, he works on behalf of the profession on issues concerning medical indemnity and national disability.

David Jonas David Jonas – Founding Director

David Jonas is the Chief Operating & Commercial Officer of the CMCRC, heading the general management of the Centre as well as its commercialisation activities, including the founding of Lorica Health (formerly CMC Insurance Solutions). David also founded Australia’s largest privately held electronic commerce consulting firm, ETC Electronic Trading Concepts, which was sold in 2000. His ground breaking involvement in electronic commerce has seen him appointed to a range of Australian and European Union Government bodies.

Paul Nicolarakis Dr Paul Nicolarakis – CEO and Managing Director

Paul Nicolarakis brings a breadth of expertise across business, medicine, health policy, clinical analytics and visualisation to Lorica Health. Since completing degrees in medicine and neuroscience at Sydney University and his residency at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Paul has explored the interface between health, data and policy, seeing him lead an award winning aged care electronic medical record start up, prior to joining Microsoft as their clinical analytics lead, engaging with senior health leaders and policy makers across the Asia Pacific and Middle East. Most recently, Paul served as a Senior Adviser to Federal Health Minister The Hon. Tanya Plibersek MP, before commencing at the Capital Markets Cooperative Research Centre as the clinical and strategic lead for their health market quality program, and more recently as CEO of Lorica Health. Paul holds an Adjunct Associate Professor title at the School of Public Health at the University of Sydney, is a 2015 Multinational Program Eisenhower Fellow and sits on the Board of the NeuRA Foundation.

Comments are closed.